top of page

The Demining Technology Competition

The Fourth Mines Action Canada (2001-2002) competition to encourage appropriate technology solutions and incremental improvements in the removal of landmines is now completed. Mines Action Canada (MAC), Canadian partner to the 1997 Nobel Peace Prize winning International Campaign to Ban Landmines (ICBL), is pleased to announce three winning teams of our Demining Technology Research Competition. The submissions were evaluated by three judges with extensive experience in demining. The final decision was made after consultation with our committee members and technical advisors. The competition winners are:

First Prize: Intellicharge SolarBattery Charger. Team members: Tara Dorscher, Carl Roett, University of Calgary.

Second Prize: The DeminingMat. Team members: Brian Lim, Michael Moriarty, Katrina Brandstadt and Kristjan Gottfried, University of Calgary.

Third Prize: Vegetation Clipper. Team Members: Zahir Jetta, Dominic Wong, Alex Chou, UBC

“Engineering students can make valuable contributions towards resolving the landmine crisis. Already the competition has resulted in several project offering new and innovative approaches to demining efforts,” says Paul Hannon, Executive Director of Mines Action Canada. “Experience shows us humanitarian deminers rely on simple, technological solutions. Canadian engineering students are responding to this need.” Commentary from judges and

advisors for current projects will be released by Mines Action Canada. A report of the competition will also be issued, together with announcements pertaining to the date and locations of the awards ceremonies, which will be held at each winning university.

Prize money for competition winners is a contribution of the Canadian Auto Workers Social Justice Fund. MAC also gratefully acknowledges the generous support of Science for Peace, United Nations Association in Canada, the Canadian Association of Mine and Explosive Ordinance (CAMEO), and the Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade.

Recent Posts

See All

SfP Bulletin archive

SfP Bulletin February 2017 The President’s Corner: Science for Peace as a Foreign Language Metta Spencer Report of the Working Group on Global Governance Helmut Burkhardt Report of the Working Group o

Report of the Working Group on Global Governance

(2016-09-17) Members: Helmut Burkhardt (chair), Norman Dyson, Rose Dyson, Brydon Gombay, Julia Morton-Marr, Tom Simunovic, Peter Venton, Adnan Zuberi Mandate: We believe good global governance is mean


bottom of page