top of page

Science For Peace AGM

May 10, 1986, 2pm Combination Room Trinity College, University of Toronto


The Ottawa Chapter has successfully completed its trial run of giving a peace award at the Ottawa Regional Science Fair. Joined by INPUT, Educa­ting for Peace and an anonymous donor, we gave awards of $100 each in two age categories. Winners were A. Johnson (Junior Physical Science), “Les agents preservatifs de nourriture chimique, physique et naturel”, and M. O’Brecht (Intermediate Engineering),“Windmills, Sail Wing and the Edmo Rotor”.

In cooperation with the Youth Science Foundation we shall now pro­ceed with setting up a major award at the National Science Fair in 1987. This must involve selection and nomination of suitable projects from regional Science Fairs by our chapters and members, whom we shall contact in the next few months.

– J.M. Neelin

The New Brunswick Chapter has in­volved itself in the same program — we look forward to sharing their report in the next issue.

Toronto Chapter’s AGM (May 1) saw the election of a new executive: Chester Sadowski, chairman; Terry Gardner, v. chair; Arnold Simoni, v. chair; Phyllis Creighton, secretary; John Buttrick remains treasurer.

The Chapter’s very successful lec­ture series which it co-sponsors with the Toronto Chapters of PSR and Lawyers for Social Responsibility will continue through May.

Visit The Exhibit At Robarts Library Before The Annual Meeting On May 10. 2 pm.

Recent Posts

See All

SfP Bulletin archive

SfP Bulletin February 2017 The President’s Corner: Science for Peace as a Foreign Language Metta Spencer Report of the Working Group on Global Governance Helmut Burkhardt Report of the Working Group o

Report of the Working Group on Global Governance

(2016-09-17) Members: Helmut Burkhardt (chair), Norman Dyson, Rose Dyson, Brydon Gombay, Julia Morton-Marr, Tom Simunovic, Peter Venton, Adnan Zuberi Mandate: We believe good global governance is mean


bottom of page