top of page

Federal funding of small modular reactors (SMRs) must be put on hold

Dear Prime Minister:

As organizations working tirelessly to protect the environment and seeking solutions to the climate crisis, we reflect the concerns of millions of Canadians.  We are dismayed to learn that your government plans to announce on November 18 at an industry conference its action plan to support the development of small modular nuclear reactors (SMRs), leading eventually to the expansion of nuclear energy in Canada and to the added production of radioactive wastes.

Natural Resources Canada has undertaken no consultation whatsoever with environmental and citizen groups and the Canadian public aside from the “stakeholders” in the nuclear industry and organizations willing to sign on to a statement of support for SMRs.

Over 30 public interest groups across Canada who believe SMRs are a dirty, dangerous distraction from tackling the climate crisis signed the media release below. Nuclear energy is not green, not clean, too costly and too slow to build.

How can your government propose to commit this country to a strategy of nuclear energy expansion, with its wide-reaching and long-lasting environmental, health and fiscal implications, without a public dialogue and assessment of environmental, health, economic and social impacts?

Any further government commitment to the development of small modular reactors must be put on hold and a process established to permit Canadians to have their say and evaluate the economic, societal and environmental cases for and against nuclear energy expansion.

Yours sincerely,

Theresa McClenaghan, Executive Director and Counsel

Canadian Environmental Law Association

Beatrice Olivastri, CEO

Friends of the Earth Canada

Shawn-Patrick Stensil, Director of Programs

Greenpeace Canada

Gretchen Fitzgerald, National Program Director

Sierra Club Canada Foundation

Gordon Edwards Ph.D., President

Canadian Coalition for Nuclear Responsibility

Dr. Cathy Vakil

Canadian Association of Physicians for the Environment

Jamie Kneen, Co-Manager

MiningWatch Canada

Ginette Charbonneau, Porte-parole

Ralliement contre la pollution radioactive

Richard Sandbrook D.Phil, FRSC, President

Science for Peace

Peter Driftmier, Chair

YYC For A Green New Deal (Alberta)

Ann Coxworth M.Sc. (Nuclear chemistry), Board Member Saskatchewan Environmental Society

Brennain Lloyd, Project Coordinator


Ann McAllister, Representative

Coalition for Responsible Energy Development in New Brunswick (CRED-NB)

Recent Posts

See All


Couldn’t Load Comments
It looks like there was a technical problem. Try reconnecting or refreshing the page.
bottom of page